How do I restart Parallels Plesk Panel

This can be done using the following commands when logged in as root via SSH on the Parallels Plesk Panel (PP) server:

Parallels Plesk Panel for Linux:

~# /etc/init.d/psa stop
~# /etc/init.d/psa start

Parallels Plesk Panel installed on FreeBSD server in versions prior to 8.1:

~# /usr/local/psa/rc.d/psa stop
~# /usr/local/psa/rc.d/psa start

Parallels Plesk Panel on FreeBSD since version 8.1:

~# /usr/local/etc/rc.d/psa.sh stop
~# /usr/local/etc/rc.d/psa.sh start


How to correctly uninstall DrWeb antivirus

Uninstall DrWeb from my Parallels Plesk Panel server because we do not use it.

nswer

Log in to the server under root and do the following:

Remove DrWeb antivirus packages:

# rpm -e drweb-updater drweb-common drweb-bases drweb-base drweb-daemon psa-drweb-configurator

Go to Server > Server Components (or Tools & Settings > Server Components on Plesk 10.x and newer) and update list of server components to detect that Dr.Web has been removed.

After that, run forced update of mail server configuration:

# /usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/mchk --without-spam

Remove the cron entry remaining after the uninstallation:

# rm -rf /var/spool/cron/drweb
# rm -rf /etc/cron.daily/drweb-update

Discontinue monitoring of the service by Watchdog:

/usr/local/psa/admin/bin/modules/watchdog/wd --unmonit-service=drweb

Force small taskbar using group policy

I like to force small taskbar and also disable grouping.

To disable grouping, the policy is:

User Configuration \ Policies \ Administrative Templates \ Prevent grouping of taskbar items = Enabled

There is no policy to force small taskbar, but there is a registry setting. Therefore we can make a custom ADM file (source: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/ar/w7itproui/thread/eb25d68d-41cc-4188-a00c-7342992dad05)
reate a file with the extension .ADM mine is Taskbar Extra.ADM on your Domain Controller

Insert this into the file and make sure you save it as .ADM and not .txt
Continue reading…


How To Enable/Disable Fast User Switching In Windows 7, Vista, XP

A single computer is often shared between multiple users, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 makes it easier for users to share a computer using the Fast User Switching feature enabled, it allows more than one user to log on simultaneously at a single computer, for example, if you are currently logged onto a computer, another user can log on to watch movies, without you having to close your open programs and log off. Once the user is finished, you can return to your session where all your programs will still be running.

In Windows 7 / Vista – Method 1: Using Local Group Policy Editor

Click Start, type gpedit.msc in the Start Search or Run dialog box and press Enter.

Now navigate to the following location:
Continue reading…


Local Group Policy deployment for non domain computers

How to create a local policy and deploy it to non-domain computers

1. Create local group policy
a. run mmc
b. add group policy object editor snap in with the local computer as policy object
c. add necessary administrative templates
d. define settings
e. close the policy object editor as to create, save and apply the policy to the local computer

2. Copy local policy
the created local group policy is to be found under:
%windir%\system32\group policy\
(this is by default a hidden folder)

copy the group policy folder with all subfolders and files in it

paste it into the same place on the computer you want to have these settings applied to

the policy will take effect on next restart

keep in mind that the local policy is the first to be applied so it is overwritten by any other policies that may be defined for this machine

3. Remove policy
if the policy is no longer necessary it is not enough to remove or delete the Group Policy folder as the settings are retained in the windows registry

if you know what the settings are then you can edit them into whatever value is required

otherwise run the local group policy object editor again (as in step 1) and reset all settings back to NOT CONFIGURED

restart the workstation and check to see if the settings are returned to their defaults